Hartington, licensed to make Blue Stilton and White Stilton


Only six dairies, located in the three counties of Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and Leicestershire, are licensed to produce Blue Stilton - the King of English cheeses.

Both White Stilton and Blue Stilton are protected by a Certification Trade Mark and EU Protected Designation of Origin (PDO).

All six dairies are licensed to produce both Blue Stilton and White Stilton cheese. A seventh dairy, Shirevale, is licensed to make White Stilton only.

The licensed dairies are:

Hartington Creamery, licensed to make Blue Stilton and White Stilton
  1. Colston Bassett Dairy
  2. Cropwell Bishop
  3. Hartington Creamery
  4. Long Clawson Dairy
  5. Tuxford & Tebbutt Creamery
  6. Websters

Our own Hartington Creamery is the only Derbyshire based Stilton Producer and is the smallest producer of them all.